A magnificently boring but perfect example of user needs

I have been busy becoming a father in the last year so blogging has come a long way down the list.

However, I couldn’t resist writing a short piece on this example of user needs fulfilled…

I’m a keen gardener (who takes things seriously) and found myself researching breeze blocks online (yes, yes I did).


I went to B&Q’s main website where it looked like they had some spiffing breeze blocks. I mean any breeze block that scores 4.3 / 5 for ease of use must be good right?

However I was also met with this message about bulk orders for them. 


Hmmm, I don’t want 72 on a pallet. Maybe I can’t spend the £3.50 I had been intending. As a last resort I read the reviews (if only to discover how a large brick can lose 0.7 stars for ease of use).

All hail “Patroclus” who answered my immediate user need that I can indeed order breeze blocks on an individual basis rather than groups of 72.


Such a simple piece of content that was the decider for me ultimately giving B&Q another £3.50. Without that review how many British gardeners are looking elsewhere for their breeze block needs?!

Whilst this post is ever so slightly tongue in cheek, I felt it was a wonderful example of addressing a user need even in the most boring of contexts.

In a UX community increasingly overflowing in ambiguity and complexity, it’s good to remind people of the simple things!

Thanks for reading. Follow me on Twitter to discover what I intend to use the breeze blocks for! 

Leave a Reply

